First Date Jitters

Is there anything that is so extremely exciting but utterly nerve wracking as a first date?

What do I wear? What do I say? Do I hug him, shake his hand, smile?

Of course, I over analyze everything. But to keep my jitters down I make sure I have a killer outfit! Confidence is key, and I like to keep it simple.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a fancy outfit, and the more accessories, often, the better. However, I think the first date outfit should focus on your personality and not your skill at mixing patterns.

I was lucky enough to go on dates with two amazing gentlemen. Yes, TWO! Let me first say, this never happens, I am often too busy with school and hanging out with my cat to pay attention to men. But, I’ve been trying a dating app, I know CRINGE, and I ended up with two fantastic matches. More on that later.

One of my dates was at a water front restaurant, casual, but nice. I went with this black t-shirt dress I purchased from Nordstrom’s Rack for $18! It’s loose fitting, shows a little cleavage without being too much, and has a trendy high-low hem. The shoes are simple, but feminine. The shoes are from Charlotte Russe and I’ve linked them here!

image2

Maci likes to help me out with outfit planning!

The second date was at a trendy bar downtown, one that has a cozy hipster vibe. I went with cuffed skinny jeans, a flirty off the shoulder top, and the same simple ballet flats. I love them because they remind me slightly of the shoes you’d see in the little shops in Italy. The jeans and shirt are both from TJ Maxx awhile ago, but I consistently see these Michael Kors Jeans there. I absolutely love their stretchy fit!

image1

For both outfits I actually wore the same jewelry since the color schemes were similar, and like I said, I wanted to keep it simple! I wanted classy gold hoops and a statement piece. I recently purchased this ring while on a Navajo reservation in Northern Arizona! I wanted to make sure that I was purchasing an item actually made by local Native Americans so I was supporting their local tribe, and I found this ring on my last stop. It was actually mentioned by both guys, so my conversation piece worked!

image3Even though these outfits seemed simple, I felt confident and in control. And both gentlemen asked me out again at the end of the night, so I think it worked!

Leave a Reply

