Oregon Community College Shooting

In the wake of the Emanuel AME shooting in Charleston, where I call home now, President Obama came to deliver the eulogy for one of the shooting victims, Rev. Clementa Pinckney.

I asked someone at the time if they would attend, since after all this is our president, and they said “No, because he will politicize it.”

And I thought long and hard about that statement, because shouldn’t we allow members of the community to mourn without bringing up the issue of racial tension, or gun control, in an attempt to give a day of peace? But also, how are we to ignore the obvious? Doesn’t this make us worse than naive? In fact, doesn’t this make us ignorant?

Today someone targeted a community college in Roseburg, Oregon. For reasons that are unknown, it’s being reported that at least 7 are dead and 20 are injured. According to the Washington Post, we are now averaging more than one mass shooting per day in 2015.

I don’t usually post such things on social media because I generally find it useless. People will have their opinions and there is no sense in arguing about issues on the internet. However, I’m tired of feeling unsafe. I’m tired of watching people die for absolutely no reason. And I’m tired of having people ignore the issue, because god forbid, we learn a lesson from all this senseless killing. It’s time to stop being so ignorant. It’s time to make a change.

My heart and prayers go out to all the families affected. I pray we learn something from this horrible tragedy.

Leave a Reply

