The Art of Giving

I was driving to work this morning when I saw a woman experiencing car trouble. Her car was blocking the lane on a busy side street. As I was passing, a man pulled over, threw on his caution lights behind her, and started directing the backed up traffic.

Clearly he was on his way to work, dressed in a suit and tie. But he took time to help make everyone else’s lives easier.

How many times a day do we wish someone else noticed we need help?

How many times a day do we take the time to notice if someone else could use reassurance? If we notice, do we stop?

It only takes seconds to make someone else’s day. Our world would be so much better if others took time out of their day to help just one person. The best part of it is you can use your own passions to influence happiness in others.

Me? I love baking, and so I bring sweet treats to my friends, my coworkers, and my students to help them with their day.

Everyone always appreciates a handwritten note. Or even a text asking how their day is going. The point is, just checking in with someone can affect their day. To know that someone is thinking about you can transform your mood!

I challenge you to go out and make someones day today. Just take a few minutes of your time, and I can guarantee you’ll feel better too!

Leave a Reply

